Home > Android > Nexus One Gingerbread Update Causing Battery Life Problems

Nexus One Gingerbread Update Causing Battery Life Problems

Nexus One users started getting the Gingerbread (2.3.3) update pushed to their phones since last week of February 2011. As any Android phone user I was extremely excited when I received my Nexus One Gingerbread update on March 1st 2011. The update size was approximately 48 MB. Since the update I’ve been noticing that my battery life has significantly dropped. When I look at the stats of the battery phone usage, I see Android OS consuming anywhere between 30% to 40% of the battery charge capacity. While using Froyo, my phone once charged fully at 7:00 AM in the morning used to last till atleast 10:00 PM. Now with Gingerbread I have to recharge the phone at 4:00 PM. I have not installed any new applications nor have I changed any configuration/settings on the phone.

The issue seems to be related to how the OS is handling sleep and idle conditions. Users have mentioned that they see battery life improvements if they change the WIFI sleep policy or by disabling WIFI when it is not in use. There is a thread being discussed related to this issue at the Google Code site as Issue 15057. Workarounds are being discussed but there doesn’t seem to be a solution yet. This has been classified as a Medium priority defect. I find that surprising. What is the use of having a cool smartphone with Gingerbread if you can’t keep it powered on?

Any Nexus One users experiencing a similar battery performance issue after the Gingerbread update?

Categories: Android
  1. gautham
    March 9, 2011 at 11:21 PM

    “When I look at the stats of the battery phone usage, I see Android OS consuming anywhere between 30% to 40% of the battery charge capacity.”

    Do you have a similar figure for FroYo? Say from someone who’s not updated to GB yet…

    • March 10, 2011 at 9:16 AM

      If I remember the battery stats for Froyo, “Android OS” used to consume between 3% to 8%.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

